Challenge Accepted

Walderschmidt over as his blog, Scar Tissue, is challenging me to:

I challenge you to work your way up to 100 push-ups, 100 sit-ups, and 20 pull-ups, each event in 2 minutes.

I challenge you to run a mile in 6.30 minutes.

My workouts are thusly: Monday, Wednesday, Friday – I do max push ups, wait four minutes, max sit-ups, wait four minutes, and then max pull-ups. Every week, I try to add 10% of my previous max to the work out. For example, week one I do 60 push-ups, 60 sit-ups, and 10 pull-ups. The next week my goal would be 66 push-ups, 66 sit-ups, and 11 pull-ups.

Tuesdays and Thursdays I would do sprints and running.

I would do a combination of sprints and a jog/run.

Do 5 or so 20/30 meter sprints. Then do a 2-3 mile run. Every week you could increase the number of sprints, the distance of sprints, and if you have the time, the distance of the runs (although I would focus on the sprints).

That is my basic schedule, though I do not profess to have any real expertise.

My biggest piece of advice is to exercise consistently, whatever you do. Consistency is key.

As for joining the army, I would say to try and get on-board with ROTC, if you are not done with college they may still award you wish a scholarship and monthly pay check.

My only caveat, is only join the army if you really, really want to know and think you know what you’re doing. As an officer, they sign you up for 8 years. That is 4 years active duty and 4 years reserve. Eight years is no joke man. If I wasn’t joining the army, I’d probably never have returned to the U.S.

(…) The fact that you have to update me every week is less about you being honest to me and more about you being honest to yourself.

I hope you accomplish the challenge. But it does not affect me if you complete the challenge. You should not do it for me either. You should do it for you.

If you are not sure of time constraints, I will give you three months.

(…) So to conclude – you have until Saturday, May 25th, 2013 to complete this challenge.

CHALLENGE ACCEPTED: 100 SIT UPS/PUSH-UPS in 2″, 20 Pull Ups in 2″ and run a mile (1,605 km) in 6″.

This is going to be a though challenge. Now I can only max 35-50 push ups (180º), 100 situps (easier, yet I prefer hanging leg raises and L-Holds) and 15 pull-ups. Yet I can finish a deck of cards in 60 minutes. Running will be the most challenging.

14 comentarios

Archivado bajo Acta, Próxima Parada

14 Respuestas a “Challenge Accepted

  1. Como los harás pushups, rapido o lento? Si rápido, yo quizás puedo hacer 110 sin parar. Si paso a paso, no carajo creo que yo pueda hacer ni una jaja!

    • Me gusta hacer los push-ups/flexiones de pecho/lagartijas bien lento y con muy buena forma, creo que sirven más que plyometricos para hacer músculo. Y por lo general las hago en rango de máximo 15-20 repeticiones o, si es el caso, en el máximo que me diga la carta de turno (a veces si es un As, me hago 25)

      Igual, re bien que puedas hacer 110 sin parar, así sean rápidas.

      • Ok cool. Form is important. The reason I do them fast is because I do boxing training for some years now. With boxing, all ejercicios must be done fast to train the fast twitch muscles, así que hay que hacer los flexiones de pecho bien rápido. 15-20 reps!? Caray! That’s a lot being that the most I do en cada ejercicio físico es 8.

  2. It’s Tuesday in Germany. Time for the first week’s report.

  3. Pingback: Wald’s Challenge Week 1 @Scarred_Tissue | Transmillenium

  4. Pingback: Wald’s Challenge Week 2 @Scarred_Tissue | Transmillenium

  5. Pingback: Wald’s Challenge Week 3-5 @Scarred_Tissue | Transmillenium

  6. Pingback: Wald’s Challenge Week 6 @Scarred_Tissue | Transmillenium

  7. Pingback: Wald’s Challenge Week 7 “Your warmup is my workout” @Scarred_Tissue | Transmillenium

  8. Pingback: Wald’s Challenge Week 8 “Oblivion” @Scarred_Tissue | Transmillennium

  9. Pingback: Wald’s Challenge Week 13 “Fail” @Scarred_Tissue | Transmillennium

  10. Pingback: Wald’s Challenge Week 14 and 15 “Waking Up” @Scarred_Tissue | Transmillennium

  11. Pingback: Wald’s Challenge Weeks 16-18 “Deadline” @Scarred_Tissue | Transmillennium

Deja un comentario